Skip to content

Publications

2022

The report “Les Métiers en 2030” is a work of France Stratégie and DARES for which SEURECO has carried out macro-sectoral forward-looking scenarios up to 2030. The report provides a quantified overview of the outlook for occupations by 2030, incorporating both the major trends observed in the past and the expected demographic, economic, technological and environmental developments.

2022

This chapter presents the NEMESIS macro-econometric model. This model has been used for several ex-ante and ex-post evaluations of the macroeconomic impact of EU R&I policies. After a general overview of the model, a thorough description of the representation of innovation in the model is provided. As an example of its workings, an application to the ex-ante evaluation of the Horizon Europe programme is also provided.

2021

With a suite of eleven different models, we carry out a model inter-comparison for the EU, the scenario logic and research questions of which have been formulated based on stakeholders’ concerns. We find that Europe is currently on track to overperforming its pre-2020 40% target yet far from its newest ambition of 55% emissions cuts by 2030, as well as looking at a 1.0-2.35 GtCO2 emissions range in 2050. Aside from the importance of transport electrification, deployment levels of carbon capture and storage are found intertwined with deeper emissions cuts and with hydrogen diffusion, with most hydrogen produced post-2040 being blue. Finally, the multi-model exercise has highlighted benefits from deeper decarbonisation in terms of energy security and jobs, and moderate to high renewables-dominated investment needs.

2021

This study explores the possible employment implications of connected and automated driving (CAD). It provides an analysis of the short, medium- and long-term impacts of CAD on jobs, employment, skills and knowledge. The main report presents four different scenarios outlining future CAD deployment and fleet compositions up to 2050. The main part of the report provides an analysis of the employment and social impacts along these four scenarios, highlighting expected quantitative as well as qualitative impacts. Finally, 22 policy options were developed and are presented in the final part of this report. These policy options have been operationalised by adding a timeline and by describing the role of various actors with the goal of setting the groundwork for a social roadmap for CAD deployment. The supporting annexes provide additional information with more detailed findings, as well as information on the methodology used.

2020

This report presents a very detailed analytical review of the extensive economic literature on the links between business research investment and economic growth and then details how economic growth is represented in the NEMESIS model. We then present the scenarios and the results of their simulation with the NEMESIS model allowing the quantification of the socio-economic impacts of the French CIR since 2008.

2020

All economies rely today on metal use either in the construction or energy sectors or in more advanced technology sectors. Nevertheless, not all countries have mining industries, which implies that these countries need to import primary metal concentrates and semi-finished goods containing metals to fulfil their final consumption. By importing these goods, they also import their associated environmental externalities. Considering the French metropolitan territory where mining industries are on hold since the 1990s, this study assesses the impacts on climate change of metals-related activities (i.e. mining, production and recycling) induced by the French final demand, as well as their share in the total French carbon footprint.

2020

This report delivers a comprehensive summary of the potential use of MRIO (Multi regional input output) databases. From this analysis, it is shown that the carbon footprint of France’s domestic final demand seems to have stabilised since the beginning of the 2010s, whereas the share of emissions contributing to the French carbon footprint that took place outside France tended to increase between 1995 and 2009. In parallel, results specific to the weight of the metals sector (extraction – production – reprocessing) in France’s carbon footprint are presented. Finally, the report provides a summary of the literature on the concepts of carbon leakage and border carbon adjustment mechanisms (BCA). An analysis of the macro-economic effects (on GDP and employment) in the European Union and France of different scenarios for implementing MACFs is also proposed.

2019

This paper provides an ex-ante assessment of the expected economic impact of the post-2020 EU Research and Innovation Framework Programme, Horizon Europe. A key novelty in the approach is the use of three different macroeconomic models for the assessment of the continuation of the current Programme, Horizon 2020: NEMESIS, QUEST and RHOMOLO. In addition, NEMESIS is used to assess different batches of policy options related to the budget, management and design of Horizon Europe. The paper also highlights key aspects and assumptions that policy-makers and researchers need to consider for this type of analysis such as budget allocation, performance, leverage and financing modes.

2019

The report provides a comprehensive overview of analyses enabling definition of a trajectory of values to be taken into account if we are to achieve the goal of net zero GHG emissions by 2050 in France. Among other analyses, a multi-model analysis has been achieved using two different kind of models: macroeconomic models and energy-system models. Finally, the report recommends, for 2030, to put forward a shadow price of €250 t/CO2e. By 2050 it is expected to align with the estimated costs of the enabling technologies required for decarbonisation —therefore a cautious range of €600 to €900/tCO2e.

P., Le Mouël, 2019, “Macroeconomic evaluation of EU R&I Policies: Ways and Means”. Economics and Finance. Université Côte d’Azur, 2019. English. NNT: 2019AZUR0008. tel-02497667. PhD Dissertation.

2019

This thesis describes the R&I mechanisms that the macroeconomic models QUEST III, NEMESIS and RHOMOLO incorporate, and how these models are used to evaluate R&I policies in the EU. NEMESIS is certainly the model that includes the richest mechanisms of technical progress, with the recent extension of its innovation mechanisms to the role played by investments in ICT, software and vocational training, which are particularly important in representing innovation in services. There is an art, and a way, to the macroeconomic evaluation of EU R&I policies, and it is to the presentation of this ‘trade-off’ that the different models form, based on the analysis of the main theoretical works that have developed, since the 1950s, that this thesis is dedicated.

2019

We conducted our own independent analysis of possible pathways for a deep decarbonisation for Europe until 2050, assessing a broad portfolio of options under distinct framework conditions. Following a large‐scale modelling effort, we offer a bandwidth of solutions and provide key insights based on the main modelling perspectives of SET‐Nav: demand side, energy supply and infrastructure, and the macroeconomic effects. In this policy brief, we focus on the specific energy transition questions addressed by the SET Nav pathways and on the implications and recommendations for research and innovation.

2018

This study was carried out to provide support to the Impact Assessment of Horizon Europe, the European Framework Programme for Research and Innovation (2021-2027). The socio-economic and environmental impacts were assessed against the baseline of continuation of the Horizon 2020 Programme (2014-2020) for different policy options distinguishing: management options (centralised or decentralised), budgetary options (increase or decrease of budget) and general design options (clustered into two groups aiming at “More Impact” and “More Openness”). This assessment was conducted using the NEMESIS macro-economic model, which allows to translate R&D investments and the related knowledge spillovers into endogenous growth mechanisms.

Le Mouël, P., Le Hir, B., Fougeyrollas, A., Zagamé, P. and and Boitier, B., 2016, “Toward a macro-modelling of European Innovation Union: The contribution of NEMESIS model”, paper presented at the 9th Conference on Model-based Evidence on Innovation and DEvelopment (MEIDE) the 16-17 June 2016 in Moscow, Russia.

2016

This paper presents the methodology adopted to represent the innovation in NEMESIS, a Large Scale Multi-Sectoral model for EU-28 countries, widely used for the assessment of EU R&I policies. While the previous version of the model was based on R&D only, in this new version we extend the range of innovation inputs to investments in ICT and in a set of OI assets (Softwares and Training). It allows notably to better represent innovation in service sectors and the diversity of the innovation strategies adopted by the different countries and production sectors.

2016

Renewable energy sources (RES) play a key role in the European Commission’s 2030 Climate and Energy Framework. We apply two types of models: a detailed techno-economic sector model of the deployment of RES and two macroeconomic models. Our findings suggest that up to 2030 our triple-dividend hypothesis holds even under a declining role of Europe as technology provider for the rest of the world. More ambiguous is the order of magnitude of the effects on GDP and employment, which differs noticeably depending on the economic theory applied in the different models. Nevertheless, both models predict slightly higher GDP and employment in 2030 when implementing ambitious RES targets.

Skip to content

Publications

2022

Les Métiers en 2030 est un travail de France Stratégie et de la DARES pour lesquels SEURECO a réalisé des scénarios prospectifs macro-sectorielle à l’horizon 2030. Le rapport dresse un panorama chiffré des perspectives des métiers à l’horizon 2030 qui intègre à la fois les grandes tendances observées par le passé et les évolutions attendues sur les plans démographiques, économiques, technologiques et environnementaux.

2022

Ce chapitre présente la représentation du progrès technique endogène et de l’innovation dans le modèle macro-économique NEMESIS et focalise sur les fonctionnalités du modèle pour l’évaluation des politiques de soutien à l’innovation. Ces mécanismes sont illustrés par l’évaluation ex-ante du programme de recherche européen Horizon Europe.

2021

Nous nous appuyons sur un ensemble de onze modèles pour une comparaison des leurs résultats pour l’UE, et dont la logique de construction des scénarios et les questions de recherche étudiées ont été formulées en fonction des préoccupations des parties prenantes. Nous constatons que l’Europe est actuellement en passe de dépasser l’objectif de 40 % qu’elle s’était fixée avant 2020, mais qu’elle est encore loin de son ambition la plus récente, à savoir une réduction de 55 % des émissions d’ici à 2030. Outre l’importance de l’électrification des transports, le niveau de déploiement du captage et du stockage du carbone est lié à l’importance de l’effort de réductions des émissions et à la diffusion de l’hydrogène dont la majeure partie produite après 2040 est bleue. Enfin, l’exercice multi-modèle a mis en évidence les avantages d’une décarbonisation plus poussée en termes de sécurité énergétique et d’emplois, ainsi que des besoins d’investissement modérés à élevés dans les énergies renouvelables.

2021

Cette étude explore les implications possibles de la Conduite Connectée et Automatisée (CCA) sur l’emploi. Elle fournit une analyse des impacts à court, moyen et long terme de la CCA sur l’emploi, les compétences et la connaissance, et elle explore et présente des options dans des domaines politiques-clés pour que l’Union Européenne puisse prendre des mesures à temps. La partie principale du rapport présente quatre scénarios alternatifs du déploiement de la CCA et de la composition des flottes automobiles jusqu’en 2050. Il fournit une analyse des impacts quantitatifs et qualitatifs sur l’emploi et sur d’autres indicateurs sociaux sous les quatre scénarios développés. La partie finale présente 22 options politiques accompagnées d’un calendrier d’implémentation et d’une description du rôle des différents acteurs dans le but d’établir un fondement solide pour la feuille de route sociale du déploiement de la CCA

2020

Ce rapport présente une revue analytique très détaillée de l’abondante littérature économique sur les liens entre les investissements en recherche des entreprises et la croissance économique et détaille ensuite comment la croissance économique est représentée dans le modèle NEMESIS. Nous présentons ensuite les scénarios et les résultats de leur simulation avec le modèle NEMESIS pour quantifier conséquences socio-économiques du CIR depuis 2008.

2020

Toutes les économies dépendent aujourd’hui de l’utilisation des métaux, soit dans les secteurs de la construction ou de l’énergie, soit dans les secteurs technologiques plus avancés. Néanmoins, tous les pays ne disposent pas d’industries minières, ce qui implique que ces pays doivent importer des concentrés de métaux primaires et des produits semi-finis contenant des métaux pour satisfaire leur consommation finale. En important ces biens, ils importent également les externalités environnementales qui leur sont associées. En considérant le territoire métropolitain français où les industries minières sont à l’arrêt depuis les années 1990, cette étude évalue les impacts sur le changement climatique des activités liées aux métaux (c’est-à-dire l’extraction, la production et le recyclage) induites par la demande finale française, ainsi que leur part dans l’empreinte carbone totale de la France.

2020

Ce rapport propose une synthèse complète du potentiel d’utilisation de bases de données MRIO (Multi regional input output). De cette analyse, on montre que l’empreinte carbone de la demande finale intérieure de la France semble se stabiliser depuis les débuts des années 2010, alors que la part des émissions contribuant à l’empreinte carbone française ayant lieu en dehors de la France a eu tendance à augmenter entre 1995 et 2009. En parallèle, les résultats spécifiques au poids de la filière des métaux (extraction – production – retraitement) dans l’empreinte carbone de la France sont présentés. Finalement, le rapport propose une synthèse de la littérature sur les notions de fuites de carbone et de mécanismes d’ajustement carbone aux frontières (MACF). Une analyse des effets macro-économiques (sur le PIB et l’emploi) en Union Européenne et en France de différents scénarios de mise en œuvre de MACF est également proposée.

2019

Cette étude fournit une évaluation ex ante de l’impact économique du programme-cadre de recherche et d’innovation de l’UE pour l’après-2020, Horizon Europe. L’une des principales nouveautés de cette approche est l’utilisation de trois modèles macroéconomiques différents pour l’évaluation de la poursuite du programme actuel, Horizon 2020 : NEMESIS, QUEST et RHOMOLO. En outre, NEMESIS est utilisé pour évaluer différentes options politiques liées au budget, à la gestion et à la conception d’Horizon Europe. Le papier met également en évidence les principaux aspects et hypothèses que les décideurs politiques et les chercheurs doivent prendre en compte pour ce type d’analyse, tels que l’allocation budgétaire, la performance, l’effet de levier et les modes de financement.

2019

Le rapport donne un aperçu complet des analyses permettant de définir une trajectoire de valeur carbone à prendre en compte pour atteindre l’objectif de zéro émission nette de GES en 2050 en France. Entre autres analyses, une analyse multi-modèles a été réalisée en utilisant deux types de modèles différents : des modèles macroéconomiques et des modèles de systèmes énergétiques. Enfin, le rapport recommande, pour 2030, de mettre en avant un prix fictif de 250€t/CO2e. D’ici 2050, celui-ci devrait s’aligner sur les coûts estimés des technologies habilitantes nécessaires à la décarbonisation – d’où une fourchette prudente de 600 à 900€/tCO2e.

P., Le Mouël, 2019, « Macroeconomic evaluation of EU R&I Policies: Ways and Means ». Economics and Finance. Université Côte d’Azur, 2019. English. NNT: 2019AZUR0008. tel-02497667. PhD Dissertation.

2019

Cette thèse de doctorat décrit les mécanismes de R&I que les modèles macroéconomiques QUEST III, NEMESIS et RHOMOLO intègrent, et comment ces modèles sont utilisés pour évaluer les politiques de R&I en UE. NEMESIS est certainement le modèle qui inclut les mécanismes de progrès technique les plus riches, avec notamment l’extension récente de ses mécanismes d’innovation au rôle joué par les investissements en TIC, en logiciels et en formation professionnelle, particulièrement importants pour représenter l’innovation dans les services. Il y a l’art, et la manière, pour l’évaluation macroéconomique des politiques de R&I de l’UE, et c’est à la présentation de ce “compromis” que forment les différents modèles, à partir de l’analyse des principaux travaux théoriques qui se sont développés, depuis les années 1950, que cette thèse est dédiée.

2019

Nous avons mené une analyse des sentiers possibles pour une décarbonisation profonde de l’Union Européenne jusqu’en 2050, en évaluant un large portefeuille d’options. À la suite d’un effort de modélisation important, nous proposons un éventail de solutions et fournissons des informations clés basées sur les principales perspectives du projet SET-Nav, c’est-à-dire la demande, l’offre d’énergie et les infrastructures, et les effets macroéconomiques. Dans cette synthèse, nous nous concentrons sur les questions spécifiques de transition énergétique et sur les implications et recommandations pour la recherche et l’innovation.

2018

Cette étude a été réalisée en soutien à l’étude d’impact d’Horizon Europe, le programme-cadre européen pour la recherche et l’innovation (2021-2027). L’évaluation des conséquences socio-économiques et environnementales de différentes options s’appuie sur un scénario de référence dans lequel le programme de recherche Horizon 2020 (2014-2020) serait poursuivi. Les options étudiées distinguent: des options de gestion du programme-cadre (centralisée ou décentralisée), des options budgétaires (augmentation ou diminution du budget) et des options de conception du programme.

Le Mouël, P., Le Hir, B., Fougeyrollas, A., Zagamé, P. and and Boitier, B., 2016, “Toward a macro-modelling of European Innovation Union: The contribution of NEMESIS model”, paper presented at the 9th Conference on Model-based Evidence on Innovation and DEvelopment (MEIDE) the 16-17 June 2016 in Moscow, Russia.

2016

Cet article présente comment est représentée l’innovation dans NEMESIS, un modèle multisectoriel pour les pays de l’UE-28, largement utilisé pour l’évaluation des politiques de Recherche et Innovation de l’UE. Alors que la version précédente du modèle était basée uniquement sur la R&D, dans cette nouvelle version, nous étendons la gamme des actifs d’innovation aux investissements dans les TIC et dans un ensemble d’actifs intangibles (logiciels et formation). Cela permet notamment de mieux représenter l’innovation dans les secteurs des services et la diversité des stratégies d’innovation adoptées par les différents pays et secteurs de production.

2016

Les sources d’énergie renouvelables jouent un rôle clé dans la politique climatique pour 2030 de la Commission européenne. Nous appliquons deux types de modèles : un modèle technico-économique sectoriel détaillé du déploiement des renouvelables et deux modèles macroéconomiques. Nos résultats suggèrent que, jusqu’en 2030, notre hypothèse du triple dividende se vérifie même si le rôle de l’Europe en tant que fournisseur de technologies pour le reste du monde est en déclin. L’ordre de grandeur des effets sur le PIB et l’emploi est plus ambigu, car il diffère sensiblement en fonction de la théorie économique sous-jacente aux différents modèles. Néanmoins, les deux modèles prévoient une légère augmentation du PIB et de l’emploi en 2030 en cas de mise en œuvre d’objectifs ambitieux en matière d’énergie renouvelables.